RESIDENTS will vote at over 100 polling stations as schools, church halls and sports clubs are requisitioned for voting tomorrow.

The 109 polling stations include 20 primary schools which will close, though some adjoining children's centres will remain open.

Five secondary schools will also become polling stations: Chace Community, Edmonton County School’s lower and upper school sites, Latymer School and Lee Valley High School.

Anyone on the electoral register can cast a vote at the station shown on their polling card, any time from 7.00am to 10.00pm.

Voters will elect MPs for either Southgate, Enfield North or Edmonton for the parliamentary general election, and also for councillors in their ward. In total, sixty-three councillors will be elected representing the twenty one wards in the borough.

Votes will be counted through the night, with live updates brought to you from the Enfield Independent team, from the count at Lee Valley Athletics Centre, Picketts Lock, Edmonton.

The result of the general election is expected some time in the early hours of the morning, while the local election results are expected in the afternoon.

In Enfield, 179,000 people are on the electoral roll, while turnout for the council elections in 2006 was at 37.91 per cent.