Cllr Luke Cawley-Harrison will stay on as leader of Haringey Liberal Democrats after winning re-election during the group’s annual general meeting (AGM).

The Crouch End ward councillor said his group was “more determined than ever to be the strong opposition Haringey needs” after gaining the support of his colleagues during the meeting on Monday.

Cllr Dawn Barnes, who represents Fortis Green, has been confirmed as deputy leader, while Cllr Scott Emery will serve as chief whip. Cllr Pippa Connor was re-elected as vice chair of the overview and scrutiny committee, a role she has held for eight years.

Cllr Cawley-Harrison said: “This is a strong team of experienced councillors, who will bring the energy and ideas our borough is crying out for.

“We are more determined than ever to be the strong opposition Haringey needs and will continue to do what Lib Dems do best – work hard all year round for our communities.”

The group meeting came after local elections on May 5 that saw the Lib Dems lose eight seats, leaving them with seven councillors – their lowest number since 2001.

Labour, meanwhile, enjoyed their best set of local election results since 1998, increasing their majority to 43 on a strong night for Sir Keir Starmer’s party across London.

After the election results were announced, Cllr Cawley-Harrison said the Liberal Democrats “got a fantastic reception on the doorstep” and the result was not an “anti-Lib Dem thing” but stemmed from residents making a point “that they do not want this Conservative government”.

The official council appointments will be confirmed during the authority’s AGM on Monday, May 23.

The Liberal Democrat spokesperson roles are as follows:

  • Corporate strategy and finance: Cllr Luke Cawley-Harrison
  • Adults and health: Cllr Pippa Connor
  • Education, youth, families and children: Cllr Marsha Isilar-Gosling
  • Housing and regeneration: Cllr Dawn Barnes
  • Environment and transport: Cllr Scott Emery
  • Council and customer services: Cllr Alessandra Rossetti
  • Crime and communities: Cllr Nick da Costa