An impressive new art display, showcasing footballs like never before, has opened to the public free of charge in Warmington House at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

The magnificent and historic Grade II listed building, that forms part of the Tottenham Experience, is now home to OOF – the biannual magazine that explores the relationship between art and football.

OOF’s debut exhibition is ‘BALLS’ - a group show of football-themed sculptures from artists including Sarah Lucas, Marcus Harvey and Hank Willis Thomas, alongside rising art stars like Lindsey Mendick and Kieran Leach.

It is not the only contemporary art gallery at the stadium – the West Stand concourse features a gallery of works from local artists entitled ‘Passionate About Tottenham’, celebrating various cultural aspects of the area.

This is OOF’s first permanent home after three years of exhibitions across London, specialising in contemporary art with a football edge.

OOF founder and lifelong Spurs fan, Eddy Frankel, said: “The aim is to create a space for contemporary art, but away from the mainstream art world - a place where everyday football fans can encounter art in an approachable, intelligible, non-judgemental way.

“At the same time, OOF wants to bring art and art lovers to a deprived area of the city. Future plans include a community outreach programme and the establishment of an artist residency, which will invite artists to spend time in the area and interact with its community.”

The exhibition is the latest visitor attraction to arrive at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium as the Club continues to create a new sport and leisure destination for London.

As part of the development, the historic Warmington House was painstakingly restored to its former glory by the Club, having previously been on Historic England’s Heritage at Risk register.

It is recorded as having been built in 1828 - its name derived from James Warmington, a farmer and coal merchant who occupied the property from 1851-76.

A later occupant of some note was John Alfred Prestwich, manufacturer of cine cameras who lived there from 1888-98 and went on to invent the JAP motorcycle petrol engine. The house was a restaurant from 1911-23 and was placed on Historic England’s register of ‘at risk’ listed buildings as it sat derelict in front of the old White Hart Lane for a number of decades.