The electoral map of Enfield has been re-drawn to ensure local politics remains representative as the borough’s population grows.

Four new electoral wards look set to be created following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, taking the total number of wards to 25.

Enfield would still have 63 councillors – but while all wards currently have three councillors, some would only have two following the shake-up.

All the current ward boundaries would change, and some would be renamed.

The changes are designed to ensure the number of voters represented by each councillor is roughly the same across the borough, while maintaining community identities.

The commission’s recommendations include the creation of new Whitewebbs and Ridgeway wards covering what is currently Chase ward.

Another new ward, Highfield, would be created to the east of Palmers Green.

Carterhatch, Brimsdown and Bullsmore wards would cover parts of the north-east of the borough currently covered by Turkey Street and Enfield Highway.

Under the recommendations, there would be 12 wards with two councillors – Arnos Grove, Bowes, Bullsmore, Carterhatch, Cockfosters, Grange Park, Highfield, New Southgate, Oakwood, Palmers Green, Ponders End and Winchmore Hill. The rest would have three.

If the changes are approved by parliament, they will come into force at the council elections in 2022.

Professor Colin Mellors, chairman of the commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across Enfield who took part in the review. The commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Enfield.”

Council leader Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Labour, Jubilee) said: “Labour Enfield Group made a submission to the boundary commission a few months ago. The new proposals have, in part, taken on board our suggestions.

“Ultimately, it doesn’t matter what the boundaries are – Labour candidates will always fight for every vote, and Labours councillors will always represent all residents in their wards.”

The Conservative Group was also approached for comment.