A shake-up at the council’s top table has seen the departure of some experienced hands and the arrival of several fresh faces.

Five new councillors – including a new deputy leader – were appointed to Enfield’s cabinet at the council’s annual meeting on Wednesday (May 8).

All of the outgoing senior councillors had served as cabinet members under the previous administration, which was led by Cllr Doug Taylor.

Cllr Ian Barnes – who has been a councillor for just one year – replaces Cllr Daniel Anderson as the council’s deputy leader.

Cllr Ahmet Oykener, Cllr Dino Lemonides, Cllr Achilleas Georgiou and Cllr Yasemin Brett have also left their posts at the top table.

All five outgoing councillors had signed a letter calling for an investigation into “irregularities” in the vetting of council candidates in the run-up to last year’s local election amid an ongoing dispute in the Enfield Labour Group.

Labour’s governing body recently announced several measures aimed at tightening up its oversight of the Enfield group after an investigation into a range of complaints relating to the 2018 election.

Cabinet members who have not changed their portfolios are Cllr Mary Maguire, Cllr Guney Dogan, Cllr Nneka Keazor and Cllr Alev Cazimoglu.

They are joined by new arrivals Cllr Rick Jewell, Cllr George Savva, Cllr Gina Needs and Cllr Mahtab Uddin.

Council leader Cllr Nesil Caliskan said: “Our new cabinet members will take up important roles to serve the people of Enfield, to deliver decent public services.

“We will continue to focus our efforts of providing more genuinely affordable housing for residents, tackling crime and disorder and raising standards in our schools so that every child in our borough can reach its full potential.”

Full details of the new cabinet positions are as follows:

Cllr Nesil Caliskan – Leader

Cllr Ian Barnes – Deputy Leader

Cllr Alev Cazimoglu – Health and Social Care

Cllr Mary Maguire – Finance and Procurement

Cllr Mahtab Uddin – Public Health

Cllr Nneka Keazor – Community Safety and Cohesion

Cllr Guney Dogan – Environment and Sustainability

Cllr Gina Needs – Social Housing

Cllr Rick Jewell – Children’s Services

Cllr George Savva – Licensing and Regulatory Services

Cllr Claire Stewart – Enfield West, Cllr Ahmet Hasan – Enfield North and Cllr Mustafa Cetinkaya – Enfield South will be the borough’s associate cabinet members.