Labour have comfortably retained their full complement of St. Ann’s ward councillors after winning last week’s by-election.

Noah Tucker won 63.6 per cent of the vote – 1,177 votes in total – to replace Peter Morton as one of the three councillors for the Tottenham-based seat.

Mr Morton, former Haringey Council cabinet member for health, had resigned in May.

Although turnout was just 20.7 per cent, according to the council website, Labour managed to increase their share from the 2014 vote in the ward, up by 12.3 per cent.

Green Party candidate Ronald Stewart – who earlier this year was chosen by his party to run for the Greater London Assembly – came a distant second with 323 votes, while Liberal Democrat Josh Dixon was third with 189.

Conservative Ellis Turrell got 106 votes, and UKIP’s Janus Polenceusz was last with 54.

Haringey Labour and Mr Tucker have been contacted for comment.