Saracens duo Charlie Hodgson and Owen Farrell have been shortlisted for the ERC European Player of the Year award.

The Sarries pair are selected among 15 players from 44 clubs and the list will be cut to five following the Heineken Cup semi finals.

Farrell is the Men in Black's top points scorer of all time in the competition with 204 points and the England number ten broke a Heineken Cup record against Racing Metro this campaign when he kicked ten penalties in one match.

Hodgson meanwhile has also been prolific in the Pool stages scoring three tries, seven penalties and seven conversions meaning his personal points tally is 50.

Director of rugby praised the pair after Saracens' last outing when they beat Edinburgh 40-7.

Hodgson scored a try while Farrell kicked three conversions and three penalties.

"We're pretty fortunate with the half backs we've got at the club," McCall said.

"We've got Owen [Farrell] and Charlie [Hodgson] who I get questioned about every week about why I start Charlie when Owen played well last week but they compliment each other really well and we're very fortunate to have them both."

ERC European Player of the Year 2013 list (based on performances in the pool stages):

Steffon Armitage (Toulon) Rory Best (Ulster Rugby) Julien Bonnaire (ASM Clermont Auvergne) Mike Brown (Harlequins) Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) Owen Farrell (Saracens) Wesley Fofana (ASM Clermont Auvergne) Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier) Charlie Hodgson (Saracens) James Johnston (Harlequins) Joe Launchbury (London Wasps) Morgan Parra (ASM Clermont Auvergne) Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers) Ruan Pienar (Ulster Rugby) Simon Zebo (Munster Rugby)