Parties should be ashamed of poverty statistics

4:26pm Thursday 30th October 2014

The news from the End Child Poverty campaign that almost half of the children in Edmonton are living in poverty should be a source of shame to all the parties of government.

Good for football and good for fans

4:25pm Thursday 30th October 2014

I was delighted to see that Enfield Town FC’s supporters’ organisation had helped the Labour Party to draw up its new plans to give fans a voice in every football boardroom.

Stop making cuts to hurt the poor

4:24pm Thursday 30th October 2014

Somewhat to my horror, I heard Chancellor of the Exchequer MP George Osbourne’s announcement for further cuts (£25billion) and more hurt for the poor.

Criticising the car is anti-car to me

4:23pm Thursday 30th October 2014

Mr Hughes’ attitude towards motoring is evident (‘Good servant but bad masters’, Opinion, October 15). In his own words, he said: “Current attitudes to travel on urban roads are a mindset created by a century of putting cars first. It’s a mindset that is dangerous, anti-social, limits children’s independence, is destructive of local town centres and shopping areas and undemocratic” (‘Bikes and cars are simply tools’, Opinion, July 2).

Leaving park gates open is an awful idea

4:22pm Thursday 30th October 2014

I couldn’t believe it when I read park gates could be left unlocked all night. Are they living in the 1940s/1950s, when people could be trusted not to steal and leave their rubbish or smash seats and statues?

Social work is a difficult job

3:15pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

As a retired social worker, it was with sadness but not surprise that I read your headline ‘Children in care on the rise’ (Enfield Independent, October 15).

Council needs to reject proposal

3:14pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

Yet again, a planning application has been lodged in relation to the Spurs football training complex, which threatens the local green belt.

Road closures would impede traffic flow

3:12pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

I wish to respond to letters from David Hughes (‘Good servants but bad masters’, Opinion, October 15) and Michael Clary (‘Schools need to be where the need is’, Opinion, October 15).

Together we can make them listen

3:11pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

I am very concerned about the lack of serious local debate on the homes we need in our community, when there’s clearly a big problem.

Almost non-existent bicycle facilities in precinct

3:10pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

Much has been made of the proposed Cycle Enfield scheme that our supposed cycle-friendly council has proposed, and its benefits to both cyclists and shopkeepers.

Hospital deserves commendation

Enfield Independent: North Middlesex University Hospital questioned over high number of deaths recorded as 'palliative'

4:17pm Thursday 16th October 2014

I was very surprised to read that in a recent survey North Middlesex Hospital did not receive the commendation for cancer care that I believe it deserves.

Bobbies on the beat cut crime

4:16pm Thursday 16th October 2014

I support wholeheartedly Enfield Borough Council’s lobbying of the Mayor of London Boris Johnson to keep 25 extra police officers in the borough (‘Calls made to keep extra officers’, Enfield Independent, October 8).

A total disregard for the disabled

4:15pm Thursday 16th October 2014

The disabled car parking spaces outside of the café at Forty Hall, Enfield, have been done away with and replaced by a row of cycle racks.

Restricting traffic is not the solution

4:14pm Thursday 16th October 2014

I have received a questionnaire entitled ‘Quieter Neighbourhoods Wolves Lane Area’. The object of the exercise is to stop so-called ‘rat-running’ through the area. To achieve this, it will be necessary to impose road restrictions on traffic movement.

Drivers need to take more care on roads

4:13pm Thursday 16th October 2014

Camlet Way and Beech Hill are supposed to be 30mph and people are tearing along at about 100mph. Why are drivers, including cyclists, not taking more care?

Good servants but bad masters

4:13pm Thursday 16th October 2014

I was very sorry to hear from Paul Mandel’s letter (‘Residents’ voices were heard’, Opinion, October 1) that at a meeting of the Fox Lane Residents’ Association I created the impression that I am anti-car. That is certainly not the case.

Schools need to be where the need is

4:11pm Thursday 16th October 2014

Although there is a short-term objection to Minchenden being used for special needs rather than as a temporary primary school, the Grovelands Residents’ Association’s main concern is longer term.

View plans for hospital site

2:45pm Thursday 9th October 2014

The Royal Free Hospital Foundation Trust planning application for the future use of the Chase Farm Hospital site is to be heard on November 21 at an Enfield Borough Council planning committee.

Protect workers from attacks

2:42pm Thursday 9th October 2014

Enfield’s frontline workers play a vital role in our everyday lives, be it keeping our streets safe, helping us in a medical emergency or getting us to work. Yet shockingly, my colleagues and I have uncovered figures which show that violence against people like nurses, cabbies, and receptionists is rife.

Do more to improve our air quality

2:36pm Thursday 9th October 2014

I am writing in response to K Brown (‘Cycle more to live longer’, Opinion, September 17). If he believes everything he reads in an overseas study, that is his choice. I prefer to form an opinion from facts, such as the following: car owners pay car tax, petrol tax, VAT on insurance and maintenance of the vehicle, income tax and council tax. Multiply these amounts by 30 million car-owners and we have a very large amount of money used for the benefit of all UK residents.

Produce resources for our needs

2:35pm Thursday 9th October 2014

Solar panels are not very popular and there is doubt as to whether they are cost-effective.

Take Tube into 21st century

Enfield Independent:

4:14pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

Commuting on the Tube means being out of contact, and when you are delayed underground you can’t tell anybody, unless they’re sitting in the same carriage as you. If you work in Enfield and are waiting on an important call, don’t go on the Piccadilly Line – you’ll miss that call. But if you were in Berlin, Paris, or Seoul this would not be a problem, because for the past decade you have been able to call and text, and more recently tweet, underground.

Examine effects of cycle lanes

4:12pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

With the recent backlash over Cycle Enfield it has become clear that the unpopularity of the scheme is largely due to the removal of parking bays and its supposed detriment to local business.

Residents’ voices were heard

4:11pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

I refer to David Hughes’ letter concerning ‘quieter neighbourhoods’ and mini-Holland (‘Residents’ voices must be heard’, Opinion, September 24).

Café access denied to disabled people

4:10pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

We were shocked to discover that the disabled parking bays outside Forty Hall Park café have been replaced by cycle racks for healthy and mobile people.

Do railway works during the night

4:09pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

Can the engineering works on the railway not take place during the night when everything is quiet anyway?

Centre should be taking pressure off

4:07pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

On a recent visit to the urgent care centre at Chase Farm Hospital, now acquired by the Royal Free NHS Trust, there was a gentleman brought in by a member of the public, who had mental health issues and was a former alcoholic.

Association chairman is a true star

4:04pm Thursday 2nd October 2014

Last Wednesday, it was my honour and privilege to attend the 50th anniversary of the excellent Willow Residents’ Association at Chace Community School in Churchbury Lane.

Please rethink your resiting decision

Enfield Independent:

4:19pm Thursday 25th September 2014

I was shocked to read your front page article about the resiting of the war memorial (‘Memorial should be in town where it belongs’, Enfield Independent, August 27). John Mitchell has every right to be upset – so am I.

We want memorial in Enfield Town

4:12pm Thursday 25th September 2014

Come on residents of Enfield, let us all give our support to John Mitchell and The Veterans’ Association, after all the people named on the memorial gave their lives for us. In return we should be supporting the families of today.

Ratio of nurses to patients in our hospitals is poor

4:11pm Thursday 25th September 2014

In today’s society we are understandably shocked by the atrocities around the world and by the level of crime and injustice we hear, read or see in the media. The untimely death of a frail, elderly dementia patient could be overlooked, unless that person happened to be your dad.

Consideration for the less able

4:09pm Thursday 25th September 2014

The disabled parking spaces outside the cafeteria at Forty Hall have recently been replaced by parking for cyclists and the disabled are being told they can get a buggy from the car park to Forty Hall. Surely, it should have been the other way around – the cyclists parking at the car park – after all, if you can cycle you do not have a mobility problem.

Residents’ voices must be heard

4:06pm Thursday 25th September 2014

Would you believe it? At a meeting of the Fox Lane and District Residents’ Association – which straddles three wards – on September 10, at least seven local councillors turned up rather than the usual one or two. Excellent, you might think, and perhaps it was, but in the case of some of them it might just have been because the agenda included a presentation about the council’s new quieter neighbourhoods policy, which arises from the mini-Holland bid. Certainly that’s when some became animated.

A solution to conflicting interests

4:04pm Thursday 25th September 2014

Plans for a 25-hectare solar park were submitted for a corner of Green Belt land near the M25 and the A10. The application was subsequently withdrawn.

Praise for NHS marchers

3:55pm Thursday 18th September 2014

All praise to the Darlington mums who call themselves the Darlomums and, as predicted, arrived in Edmonton on time for their rally at Broad House Hall on Friday, September 5.

Cycle more and live longer

3:54pm Thursday 18th September 2014

Mr Musey derides and does not accept the UK’s approximate £1,500pa subsidy per car met by wider society (“Make better use of what we have”, Opinion, September 3).

Join councillors for public meetings

3:53pm Thursday 18th September 2014

In replacing area forums with ward forums, as has been discussed in these pages, Chase ward councillors have decided to hold four public ward meetings a year.

Travel fare increase is Boris’ true legacy

Enfield Independent:

3:50pm Thursday 18th September 2014

The Mayor’s announcement that travel fares in the capital will increase in line with inflation will no doubt be spun by City Hall as Boris doing his bit to help struggling Londoners with the cost of living.

Anger at removal of disabled parking bays

3:49pm Thursday 18th September 2014

Like Patricia Whitmarsh I was disgusted to find when taking my mother to the Ukrainian Festival at Forty Hall that the disabled bays had been replaced by cycle racks (‘Park users’ anger at bay removals’, Enfield Independent, September 10).

Thank you for your support

3:35pm Monday 15th September 2014

On September 6, 84 golfers played at Whitewebbs Golf Course to raise money for Enfield Breast Cancer Support Group, a branch of Cancer Research UK.

Set up larger NHS services

3:34pm Monday 15th September 2014

It has been suggested that London should have five larger council areas: north, south, east, west and central. I support this suggestion but with huge cuts in public services in England, I suggest the next government abolish all fragmented NHS Trusts in England and set up larger NHS services.

Suffering more than most

3:33pm Monday 15th September 2014

I was sorry to read that David Burrowes MP had such an terrible ordeal at North Middlesex accident and emergency unit and I am pleased he is now on the mend. Unfortunately, his is the second case I have heard of recently of a patient suffering a ruptured appendix after being made to wait too long in A&E.

Waste depot should close on Sundays

3:32pm Monday 15th September 2014

Maybe people who do not use Barrowell Green Recycling Centre are not aware that it is open on Sundays yet closed on Mondays. What a pity.

Age UK cannot match what hospital offers

3:31pm Monday 15th September 2014

If Age UK does what is best for each person as Mr Forde claims (‘Age UK does what is best for each person’, Opinion, August 20), perhaps he can tell us how many people attended his week-long hearing advice clinic in Enfield and how many of them were signposted to the NHS.

Lord Attenborough’s acting debut

Enfield Independent:

3:35pm Thursday 4th September 2014

I was very sad to hear of the death of Lord Richard Attenborough on Sunday, August 24.

Contribution is valued

3:30pm Thursday 4th September 2014

Further to Mr T Clifford’s letter (‘Why have meetings been cancelled?’, Opinion, August 20), I would like to thank him for raising this issue.

Maintain or increase number of car parks

3:28pm Thursday 4th September 2014

From the outburst of indignation about Cycle Enfield, which has appeared in the local press during the past few weeks, one would think that people were being threatened with the loss of their lives, not just the control over their cars and where they park them.

Make better use of what we have

3:26pm Thursday 4th September 2014

K Brown (‘Council is not to blame for this one’, Opinion, August 6) and David Hughes’ (‘Motorists are feather-bedded’, Opinion, August 6) criticism of Mr King is unwarranted because although providing more space for traffic in London is difficult, it can be done by making better use of what we have.

More semi-pavement parking will solve problem

4:41pm Thursday 28th August 2014

This letter refers to my letter agreeing with GA Musey’s views (‘Road space should have increased’, Opinion, July 9) and responses from K Brown and David Hughes (‘Council is not to blames for this one’, Opinion, August 6 and ‘Motorists are feather-bedded’, Opinion, August 6).

Trapping foxes is inhumane

Enfield Independent:

4:39pm Thursday 28th August 2014

We have a fox’s earth near our garden. The vixen had three cubs back in the spring and we have enjoyed the wildlife scenario acted out each day.






Essential Links

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree