More semi-pavement parking will solve problem

4:41pm Thursday 28th August 2014

This letter refers to my letter agreeing with GA Musey’s views (‘Road space should have increased’, Opinion, July 9) and responses from K Brown and David Hughes (‘Council is not to blames for this one’, Opinion, August 6 and ‘Motorists are feather-bedded’, Opinion, August 6).

Trapping foxes is inhumane

Enfield Independent:

4:39pm Thursday 28th August 2014

We have a fox’s earth near our garden. The vixen had three cubs back in the spring and we have enjoyed the wildlife scenario acted out each day.

Roads are built to accomodate traffic

4:37pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I’ve been following the bicycle versus car debate on these pages for the many weeks it has been rumbling on. However, after reading Rick Jewell’s letter (‘Motorists win hands down’, Opinion, August 13), I feel compelled to make a contribution as Mr Jewell makes some incorrect statements.

Put the concern back into your efforts

4:36pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I have received a response to my letter about my concerns regarding Age UK (‘Assisting in the demise of our NHS’, Opinion, August 6). I would like to offer a short response given that the response from Age UK was itself short (‘Age UK does what is best for each person’, Opinion, August 20).

It is the victims of war who deserve the honour

3:05pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I hope your report that the start of the Great War was honoured in Palmers Green was a mistake.

Drivers are not superior beings

3:04pm Friday 22nd August 2014

So letter writer Arif Beyzade (‘Take a deep breath and start again’, Opinion, August 13) thinks that the Labour council is responsible for the Mini-Holland bid. Wrong. The money was provided by a Conservative government, allocated by a Conservative mayor, whilst the bid itself was a bi-partisan Labour/Conservative policy. Government at every level understands that traffic growth on urban streets cannot go on, and that additionally to reduce the cars on the road, cycling has benefits ranging from tackling obesity to curbing dangerous exhaust emissions.

Drivers do not own the roads

3:02pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I was sorry to read that Rick Jewell still pays road tax (‘Motorist win hands down’, Opinion, August 13), despite it being abolished in 1937.

Why have meetings being cancelled?

3:01pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I have attended and contributed to discussions at the Haselbury and Upper Edmonton forum for many years but to my surprise, these meeting have been shelved.

Age UK does what is best for each person

2:59pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I’m writing in response to the letter regarding our hearing clinics (‘Assisting in the demise of our NHS’, Opinion, August 6).

We appear to be easy pickings for thieves

2:58pm Friday 22nd August 2014

I have lived in Palmers Green since 1986 and not long after had two ornamental ironwork planters to adorn the garden with overhanging fuchsias. I had not used them for several years now but they have always been in the front garden until such time I could use them again. There was also a ceramic square ornate tub filled with earth and really quite heavy.

Highlighting road dangers

4:13pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Congratulations to the Enfield Independent for highlighting the dangers posed by speeding cars along the A10 (‘Someone will be killed’, Enfield Independent, July 30).

Not the place for cyclists

4:11pm Thursday 14th August 2014

I share many of the sentiments expressed by your letter writer Catherine Aldridge (‘Cycling Scheme will bring many benefits’, Opinion, July 30), but I feel she is sadly deluded if she thinks bringing the Cycle Enfield scheme to Enfield will turn it into a version of Valkenswaard – lovely as that would be.

Motorists win hands down

4:10pm Thursday 14th August 2014

I don’t know about everyone else but I’m getting a bit tired of reading about the benefits of cycling and how good it would be to have more cycle lanes, etc, in Enfield.

Reason behind name change

4:09pm Thursday 14th August 2014

How very clever of the Labour administration to change the name of the Mini-Holland scheme to Cycle Enfield.

Take a deep breath and start again

4:08pm Thursday 14th August 2014

So the Labour council has rebranded the Mini-Holland scheme to Cycle Enfield. No doubt they have realised the unpopularity of the scheme they proposed and hope that by changing the name it will make it somehow more acceptable.

Neglect God’s Word at our eternal peril

4:07pm Thursday 14th August 2014

On the front page of this newspaper (‘Fundamental weakening’, Enfield Independent, July 23) there was a very important account of the changes to the way council decisions are scrutinised, which I hope, amendments by the council would be in order.

Who would dump cats outside RSPCA?

4:06pm Thursday 14th August 2014

I was sickened to hear that on two occasions four cats were dumped outside the RSPCA in Church Street. Temperatures were very high and caused the death of one cat.

Pedestrians could reclaim pavements

4:08pm Thursday 7th August 2014

I don’t think anyone knows, not even the planners, about the proposed transformation of Church Street into an area for cycles, buses and pedestrians.

Unanswered questions

4:06pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Local news tells us, after the meeting between councillors, GPs and MPs on Monday, July 21, an outline case for the redevelopment of Chase Farm is to be put before the Royal Free Foundation Trust board, the document however, would not be made public. A planning application to Enfield Borough Council will be revealed to the public in November and we will finally see the building details, consultation with stakeholders, staff and neighbours living near the hospital, in accordance with planning rules.

Motorists are feather-bedded

4:02pm Thursday 7th August 2014

Is there any end to the extraordinary claims and demands of some motorists? (‘Writer’s views make sense’, Opinion, July 30).

Council is not to blame for this one

4:01pm Thursday 7th August 2014

The letters page inevitably includes problems over the shortage of space allocated to traffic: be it parking space on our high streets and retail parks, or not enough actual road space, thereby causing congestion.

Assisting in the demise of our NHS

4:00pm Thursday 7th August 2014

I must firstly declare that I am a passionate believer in the National Health Service. It was therefore with some concern that I read the Age UK advertising ‘wrap around’ on last week’s Enfield Independent, which dealt at length with their special hearing advice week.

A wonderful project

3:47pm Thursday 31st July 2014

As an 81-year-old, widowed last August, I have been looking to find things to do locally, and the opening of Albany Park breathes new life into the area.

Writer’s views make sense

3:45pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Again I have to agree with G A Musey (‘Road space should have increased’, Opinion, July 9). I do not know Mr Musey, but he is one of very few who’s views make any sense. I agree with everything he says.

Do you love your local park?

3:44pm Thursday 31st July 2014

On Saturday morning, I joined volunteers from the Friends of Enfield Playing Fields group litter picking. We were clearing the litter with kit provided by the Mayor of London’s Capital Clean Up initiative. This was the big society in action.

Taxing landlords will not work

3:42pm Thursday 31st July 2014

An interesting article in your paper (‘Police step up to tackle challenging crime levels’, Enfield Independent, July 16) stated police are stepping up their activity to combat recent higher levels of crime and burglary, particularly along the Hertford Road.

Letter was right on the mark

3:40pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I would like to commend Dave Day’s letter regarding parking fines (‘Crimes get more and more serious’, Opinion, July 23).

Cycling scheme will bring many benefits

3:38pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I would like to write in support of Enfield’s Mini-Holland bid.

Are recent shootings a sign of the times?

3:13pm Thursday 31st July 2014

I write in utter disgust and dismay at hearing of another shooting and stabbing in Edmonton on Saturday, July 12. We hardly have to dream up a fantasy image of a Bronx-type ghettoised existence where people are afraid to walk the streets. For it is already occurring on the streets of Edmonton today. It never use to be that way. Increased shootings seem to be a sign of the times in a world where guns and knives are tolerated.

Keep gardens clean and tidy

2:12pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Parts of Enfield have become overrun with foxes. I suggest homeowers and landlords with large gardens clear all rubbish and keep gardens clean and tidy.

Crimes get more and more serious

2:10pm Thursday 24th July 2014

In reply to Kerry Menezes’ letter about her parking fines (‘More pressing issues to address than parking’, Opinion, July 9), I’d just like to point out that people such as Ms Menezes have nobody to blame but themselves for their situation. Don’t break the law: don’t get a fine. Where the money from fines goes is of little consequence. To question where it goes is just ‘sour grapes’.

Keep a sharp lookout

2:09pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Deep in the North Circular Area Action Plan (NCAAP), recently adopted by Enfield Borough Council (EBC), there is a reference to the development potential of the car parks adjoining Arnos Grove Underground Station (see Policy 17 Site 7).

Only dangerous in the wrong hands

2:07pm Thursday 24th July 2014

In reply to Mr Hughes (‘Bikes and cars are simply tools’, Opinion, July 2), the Highway Code contains sufficient advice and the law on how to behave on the road.

Golf club’s first county champion

2:05pm Thursday 24th July 2014

Whitewebbs Golf Club member Tim Batt became the Middlesex County Senior Champion after recording a 77 in tough, windy conditions on July 9 at Crews Hill Golf Club.

Don’t let there be a repeat of the 2011 riots

3:59pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I write regarding the relentless break-ins and muggings in the Enfield Wash area, with great concern.

Helping to stop animal cruelty

3:57pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Animal Aid would like to thank the people of Enfield for their generosity in raising £76.43 as part of this year’s annual street collection on June 28.

Thank you for handing bag in

3:54pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I would like to say a big thank you to the kind person who found my bag at Forty Hall on the day of the craft fair, and handed it in at reception.

Fly-tipping is getting worse

3:53pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I write to ask how Enfield Borough Council, with all the fly-tipping in the borough, can calmly act as if it is not happening?

A big struggle to get any support

3:51pm Thursday 17th July 2014

As a resident of Enfield, I would like to highlight and hear other residents responses regarding any issues with council tax or housing, the automated system of contact and the struggle to gain any consistency to support, which includes lengthy timescales.

Experience of ward quite the opposite

Enfield Independent:

3:49pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I read with interest your reader’s letter praising Napier ward for the care her mother received recently (‘Hospital staff deserve a medal for the work they do’, Opinion, July 2) at Chase Farm Hospital.

Where are the street cleaners?

3:45pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Has anyone seen a street cleaner in EN2 for the past three weeks? I am constantly picking up bits of litter from outside my house and in the local streets. I need the help of the street cleaners, who seem to have vanished recently (unlike the litter itself which is accumulating rapidly).

More pressing issues to address than parking

4:46pm Thursday 10th July 2014

After receiving another fine (at present £50) for the major felony of a parking offence – I am curious to discover where my money will go.

Reason to be very concerned

4:44pm Thursday 10th July 2014

Concern is rising about the London Ambulance Service (LAS). The number of paramedics leaving the profession in London has almost trebled in the last three years, according to a new report.

Parking at new shops is silly

4:41pm Thursday 10th July 2014

While I would be the last to complain about the extra jobs that are coming to Enfield on the A10 retail park, it does bring to light issues around shopping there.

Commit to teaching gender equality

4:39pm Thursday 10th July 2014

As William Hague convenes ministers from around the world at the Global Summit to End Sexual Violence in Conflict, women in South Sudan are being tied up and raped as they try to seek safety from the conflict there.

Road space should have increased

4:36pm Thursday 10th July 2014

I am writing in response to R P Blows (‘Car-cultists demand temples to parking’, Opinion, June 18) and K Brown (‘Cycle highway? Doomed!’, Opinion, June 18).

Volunteers need encouragement

4:34pm Thursday 10th July 2014

Two or more years ago there was a group of volunteers called the Street Hawks – a small dedicated band of people who were co-ordinated by one council staff employee as part of her job, to encourage, hold meetings and organise groups to remove large and small fly-tips from all over the borough.

Where have all the road repair workmen gone?

1:32pm Wednesday 2nd July 2014

Roadworks, roadworks everywhere, But where’s the workforce? No one’s there.

Time to support Cycle Enfield

1:28pm Wednesday 2nd July 2014

I disagree with Andy Pagin that lack of training is to blame for cyclists’ deaths (‘Lack of training is to blame’, Opinion, June 25).

Cycling training is not only solution to preventing accidents

1:25pm Wednesday 2nd July 2014

Whilst I agree with Andy Pagin (‘Lack of training is to blame’, Opinion, June 25) that providing cycle training is essential and, as a cyclist, I too deplore cyclists breaking the Highway Code, Mr Pagin’s perception of the causes of accidents is not correct.






Essential Links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree