There is just one month until the General Election and the Enfield Independent is taking a closer look at who has thrown their name into the hat for Enfield Southgate.

Covering the wards of Bowes, Cockfosters, Grange, Palmers Green, Southgate, Southgate Green, and Winchmore Hill, this constituency has been predominantly Tory since its creation in 1950.

It was famously held by former Conservative Defence Secretary Michael Portillo until his surprise defeat to Labour’s Stephen Twigg in 1997, when he lost his 15,563 majority.

David Burrowes ousted the Labour MP in 2005, winning a majority of 1,747, increasing that to 7,626 in 2010.

This May he will be up against Labour's Cllr Bambos Charalambous, who also contested the seat at the last election.

The Enfield borough councillor was some way off the seat in 2010 and will need to harness the Labour support of 1997 if he is to emerge triumphant in May.

Former Conservative councillor David Schofield will represent UKIP in the constituency, with former Enfield North candidate Paul Smith representing the Liberal Democrats. Jean Robertson-Malloy will represent the Green Party.